Picture
Not as exciting as it sounds. My dad and I headed straight from Texas to Yaak, Montana to hunt black bear. My first thought when we got up on the Yaak River was “holy hell there is a lot of snow up here”.  We found tons of bear sign (scat & tracks), the only problem was it was all grizzly scat and tracks. We saw moose, elk and an absurd amount of white tails, but no black bears. It was so depressing. We would head up a logging road to scout and less than 500 yards in we would hit 3 feet of snow or a mess of fallen trees blocking the road. 

Picture
The trees were easy, I would get out and move it if I could but the snow stopped us dead in our tracks. One road was totally iced up, snow packed by logging trucks, we said screw it and just kept going. We were driving up this totally iced over logging road sliding all over the place because I don’t have chains and after almost sliding in to the river for the tenth time we decided to turn around. It was a huge bust, but it was me and my dad hanging out cooking on the tailgate and enjoying nature so it was still a lot of fun, just not bear killing fun. It all about attitude, a bust of a trip can still be awesome (see gannett peak shit show). On the way home we stopped at the old Montana prison and the Berkeley Pit (largest superfund site in North America). Hopefully my dad will be able to come back in the fall and pop a bear then.

Mary Gomez
5/18/2011 01:36:05 am

Looks like a cool adventure. Big contrast for the weather you left. I am impressed that you are able to find the good instead of focusing on the disappointment of not finding the black bear. Sometimes the best trips are the ones that don't go as planned.

Reply



Leave a Reply.