I haven’t posted anything in a while. If you were keeping up you know that at the end of the summer I drove from Denver to Baton Rouge in a hurry because my Grandpa was sick. You probably also know that after that Liyah and I drove out to attempt Mount Baker with our good friend Dan Hill. The weather turned us around so Liyah and I took stock of the time and money we had left and decided to go see Mount St. Helens. We never made it. My grandpa took a turn for the worse and I flew out of Seattle and a few days later on September Fifth he passed away. I wrote this and read it at his funeral.

            This is a good day.  I can say that because Leonard Woods, my Grandpa, was a believer.  He viewed death, and I quote “as the reward for living”.  He was saved and he did not fear death, and rightly so, as 1 Corinthians 15 says,

Death has been swallowed up in victory.  Where, O death, is your victory? 
 Where, O death, is your sting? The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us victory [over death] through our Lord Jesus Christ”.

The apostle Paul goes on to say in 1 Corinthians,

that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God”

Grandpa knew this and not only did he not fear death but he welcomed it, because he knew that he must die to receive his reward. After, his death came judgment, and upon his judgment it was found that his debt had been paid, by the sacrifice and grace of his Savior, Jesus Christ. The reason that this is good day, a day for rejoicing, is that my grandpa has left this earth, he has left his weakened earthly body behind, and he now rejoices in the presence of the Lord with a new and perfect body. Paul writes in Philippians

But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.”

            The gospel of Matthew says, “blessed are those who mourn for they will be comforted”. Even though I am comforted by the knowledge that he is in paradise I will mourn him. The bible says that there is a time to weep and a time to mourn. I mourn a man who sailed around the world, crossed the equator, sailed the seven ancient seas, and in twenty-three years in the navy advanced from the lowest enlisted man to an officer, which is an incredibly rare achievement. He did that by being an exceptional sailor, he was also an exceptional husband, an exceptional father, an exceptional grandfather, and an exceptional great grandfather. Grandpa encouraged and inspired us to excel. He was a shinning example of what a man should be and what a man can be when he embraces hard work and responsibility. He showed us how much a man can love.

Since then I haven’t been able to post anything because any moment I get alone to think, I think about how much I miss him. I hope to begin posting again soon.

Mary Katherine
10/10/2011 12:53:11 am

Jonathan, your words were lovely and comforting. How proud he would be to have heard them. You are such a fine young man and I envy that you are strong enough to pursue the things in life that make you happiest. A direct result, I am sure, of your parents and grandparents influence. Your Grandpa is missed by many and remembered with love by all who knew him. Remember him fondly and often. Part of him lives in you. The adventurous, loving, intelligent man he was shows in you. Hold your head high and know that that is not unseen.

Reply



Leave a Reply.