Picture
The hostel was pretty sketchy so I decided it would be better to crash at my coworker Steven's place and take the 16 dollar hit. I had already done my laundry, used their shower and internet so it was not a total loss. I woke up at 9am and ran 22 blocks in the rain back to the hostel, trying to beat the 10am check out time so they would not charge me for another day. 9:55 I slid in there and ripped the sheets off my bed and ran to the office. I wandered around Denver for a bit and then decided it was time to head back to Minturn. I took Loveland pass instead of the tunnel and it was beautiful. I camped out with John on land SOS owns and we listened to Andrew's first show on Radio Free Minturn.

This last week I worked my first SOS base camp, and I loved it! The kids were great, and my coworkers are phenomenal. I finished that up on Thursday and headed to Leadville to do some laundry. While I was at the Laundromat I noticed a kid, kind of floating around me like he wanted to talk to me. Finally he stopped and said, “hey man I’m with Rocky Mountain Youth Corps, and I lost my ID on the trail. Think you could help me out?”, I laughed and said no. I was in a Laundromat, talking to my grandma on the phone; I’m not sure what part of that exudes the “I’ll buy kids booze” vibe. Well actually I guess just being at the Leadville laundromat and shower, puts that vibe out. I finished my laundry and met a friend and was able to grab a couch to sleep on in Leadville, which is always a good thing.
When couch surfing ,(floating friends couch to friends couch) there are a few things to remember;
Have something to offer, something that’s not money
Money should never come into play when couch surfing, it’s insulting, an defeats the purpose of couch surfing. So far I have gotten by on offering interesting conversation and PBR. 
Never expect a couch
Go with the flow, the worst thing that can happen is sleeping in the truck again.
Don’t be a hassle
If you get a couch and a shower to boot, then good job, but don’t throw off your host’s morning schedule by jumping in their shower. Wake up early! No one will invite you back if you sleep in until noon and occupy the couch all day. Wake up especially early if you don’t really know the people that own the house. Always fold the blankets they loaned you and leave a thank-you note or a pineapple (as I did last night), if they are those kind of people.
Picture
Saturday morning I headed to Minturn to meet Daphne and go to the farmers market. I bought some bread and a pulled pork sandwich. Then I headed over to Beaver Creek Resort to watch the Tough Mudder. The Tough Mudder is an insane race with crazy obstacles. Daphne and I went to cheer on Andrew but totally missed him. Then we met some coworkers at a party. I got on well with every one I was introduced to and hoped I could parley that into a couch for the night, and I did. I am on couch surfing fire! Following rule 3 of couch surfing I folded my blankets, and busted out of there at 745. I hit Leadville for some groceries. Luckily it was Liyah’s day off so I got to talk to her, which was great because I really miss her. My life is very hectic right now, and I miss having her always there when I need her.

Right now I am sitting at a campsite, in the Colligate Peaks Wilderness, next to a beautiful pool watching a beaver swim and collect food. I am almost done cooking dinner (first meal on the new coleman). Tomorrow I am waking up at 4 am and attempting to climb, Mt. Oxford, Mt, Belford.
7/15/2015 05:49:53 pm

I camped out with John on land SOS owns and we listened to Andrew's first show on Radio Free Minturn.

Reply



Leave a Reply.